Self care after a hard week

20130321-211924.jpgI’ve had a tough week. Really, I’ve had a few tough weeks, but today I’m just feeling like its all catching up with me. I am so thankful though for all I have, for all the people I love who are in my life. A gratitude list is always helpful for me when I feel a need to tune in and reset. I have prayer bleeds around my neck… Been praying for days for a friend’s life to be spared… please God. Adele, MIKA and Lennon keep me company on Pandora, as does my faithful dog.

It’s amazing to look back on my life and the many dark moments that have kept me prisoner of pain. Today, although a certain melancholy is present, along with just a feeling of exhaustion, there is also a sense of compassion in my heart. I overrate today… And I was conscious of it. I knew no relief would come from that extra macaroon though. And that consciousness made all the difference. That and choosing to not hate myself after. Instead I choose to acknowledge that I’ve been under a lot of stress and I need to rest and take good care. Even if that care comes in the form of coconuts goodness, that’s ok. Some part of my being needed that nutrient today, so I choose to trust that. I trust that my body knows what it’s doing, what it needs. Indeed, trusting is akin to compassion.

So on today’s gratitude list: my capacity to feel compassion for me. Thank You God.

2 thoughts on “Self care after a hard week

Leave a Reply

