International Women’s Day Inspirations

A Woman Among WarlordsI’m so happy it happens to be International Women’s Day today. Very timely for me to tune into the wealth of feminine strength that exists in our society – but often hidden. Today I discovered this awesome slide show about powerful women – what a God Send! They are each an inspiration: “Well- behaved women rarely make history.” One specifically stood out for me is Malalai Joya: “Afghan politician and human rights campaigner Malalai Joya was dismissed from government in 2007 for publicly denouncing the presence of what she considered to be criminals in the Afghan parliament. During the Taliban regime she ran secret schools for girls during and continues to be an outspoken critic of president Hamid Karzai and the US-led occupation. But speaking out has come at a cost. There have been six attempts on her life.”

Upon seeking out more information about her, I came across this beautiful quote which just lifted my heart:

“I am young and I want to live. But I say to those who would eliminate my voice: ‘I am ready, wherever and whenever you might strike. You can cut down the flower, but nothing can stop the coming of the spring.'” Keep reading…

An amazing woman. And an amazing message.

Leave a Reply

